Buying lathe, could use some input

JClen

Registered
Registered
I’m brand new to machining for all intent and purpose, I haven’t worked on a lathe since 1981. I feel the desire to start putting a machine shop together as I head into retirement. I could really use a sanity check before I head too far down the path.

To be totally honest, I didn’t realize that hobby grade equipment existed. I saw a video on YouTube of a guy that had a bench top sized lathe and mill, and it sent me scurrying to learn what was available. I started looking at 7” lathes, then on to bigger Grizzly’s and the settled on PM 1030 with DRO. I was just about to drive to Pittsburgh to pick it up, when I decided to slow down a bit and study. I have a lot on my plate right through the end of summer, so waiting until fall kinda makes sense.

As always happens, an “opportunity“ presented itself once I decided to wait a bit. Long winded, but here’s the question. A friend of mine has a lathe in the back of his shop, I saw it a couple weeks ago but didn’t think much of it. It’s not assembled and hasn’t worked for some time. He is willing to part with it cheap, and I wouldn’t mind the challenge of cleaning it up and putting it back into working order. It is a Millport 1440, seems not too popular as I couldn’t find much Information. Seems like a late eighties Taiwan lathe.

I rambled a bit, but would certainly appreciate opinions. The cost even with RPC would be less than half of the new ones that I’m considering and would have better capabilities. I really don’t have the experience to evaluate the condition of the lathe, there doesn’t seem to be a ton of wear, but I don’t know what I don’t know.

Thanks in advance!

John

The main problem you could have is missing or worn/damaged parts. When you say "it's not assembled", what specifically is taken apart? Was it broken down for repair, or moving?