Capabilities: Is a 1 hp PM mill enough for 18-8 stainless steel? Or 2 hp?

Gladiataar

Registered
Registered
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. I'm in the market for a PM bench mill and it would be great to get some feedback from the experienced machinists out there. I've been primarily working with wood for the last 15 years, but find myself greatly limited (using existing equipment), when it comes to making a few basic metal parts. It's time to throw a truly dedicated metal fabricating machine into the mix.

I'm a HOBBYIST ONLY, needing to fit the machine in an already crowded (woodworking machines) two car garage, for small hobby projects. Typical usage/needs would be the following:

1) Parts/Month: 2 or 3 on average
2) Material Used: 80% aluminum, 20% stainless steel (all my parts have to be corrosion resistant)
3) Dimensions: 95% of parts fall within a 10 x 10 x 1 inch footprint
4) Operations: Edge milling (1/2” dia tool max), Face milling (0.080”/pass depth, 2” dia/pass width would be fine), Pocketing (1” deep in alum, 1/4” deep in SS), Drilling (thru 2” alum, 1/2” SS), Slot Grooving (0-90 deg in X&Y is a must).
5) Accuracy: +/- 0.005” (Stop laughing … I'm a woodworker!)

Side note: Icing on the cake, but don't necessarily need, boring and tapping.