cast iron skillets

I'm NO expert on this, but it would seem that the melting points of iron and lead are such that any lead would have been vaporized rather than staying in a crucible of iron, regardless of the feed source of the iron ??

I'm NO expert on this, but it would seem that the melting points of iron and lead are such that any lead would have been vaporized rather than staying in a crucible of iron, regardless of the feed source of the iron ??

If that were the case, many of our free machining alloys wouldn't exist: 12L14, free machining brass etc...

bob

When you make alloys you mix two or more materials, usually metals. Its not intuitive but one metal can be dissolved in another, like salt in water and change it's melting/freezing property (there is snow and ice on the ground outside). Think of soda pop where you have gaseous carbon dioxide dissolved in water to produce the fizz.

Lastly the L in 12L14 stands for Lead and its made of Iron, Lead, Carbon, Manganese, Phosphorus and Sulfur. You can alter the composition of a material to produce new properties, like nice machine-ability.

Caster

Last edited:
Lodge has an outlet store in South Pittsburgh Tennessee, near Chattanouga, and another near Atlanta, good prices, friendly people, and factory seconds. my wife and I bought a lot of nice cookware, i should have driven the pickup. there are also a lot of old creepy buildings, I picked up some wood stove grates for my brother-in-law at this one place, we went down into the celler on and old creaky elevator, there were hundred of pallets of stove grates, you could hear animals scurrying around as my guide turned on the lights as led me to the pallet containing the parts. and turned them off as we returned to the elevator, it was a real adventure. would have been a good place for a horror movie.