Checking for Twist

sportfan

Registered
Registered
I have the PM 1130. I borrowed a precision level that reads in .0005" to check the bed for twist. I have the lathe bolted to the stand that I bought with the lathe. I put 1-2-3 blocks on the flat part of the ways. It takes .027" of shim to get the level close to level. I clamped squares across the ways to keep the blocks in the same position when reading the level. I'm off .0005" on one end and zero on the other end. I know I'm checking for twist and true level. My lathe does cut about .004" taper in about 8" and I'm trying to eliminate causes . Is the way I'm checking correct or not? I did some machine work in my old job but never had to set a lathe up before.

I'm just a beginner, but I have the same lathe. I found both to be super helpful.

There are multiple causes for cutting a taper and bed twist is just one. Usually, the bed is purposely twisted to correct for other issues. In some cases, two wrongs can make a right. If you are within .0005" over the ways, you are off to a good start. It is possible that 5the headstock is out of alignmnet but before messing with tha, I would try shimming to correct the taper. Check your ability to cut a flat face. If you are cutting a dome or a dish, that would most likely be due to a headstock misalignment. If you are good there, then proceed to shimming. You should be able to remove the taper.

Thanks for the replies.