Clausing 8520 Advice

Riguy14

Registered
Registered
I’m looking at a clausing 8520, it’s been professionally gone through and is in fantastic condition. The price is a 2,250, which is a bit more than I wanted to spend on it. It comes with a nice vise and a set of collets. I live in AZ and I am relatively new to machining (so I’m not sure how often these come up for sale). I have a bench master now and the lack of vertical space is a major pain. My question is: do machines of this size come up for sale often in AZ and does that sound like a fair price? Thanks in advance!

Here's some info on the 8520...

Clausing 8520 Mill | Dales Shop

www.wentztech.com/metalworking/equipment/clausing-8520-mill/
Technical Reference on the Clausing 8520 / 8530 Mill . The Clausing 8520 is a highly sought-after small knee mill due to its versatility and light weight. I can be broken down into lighter pieces and easily moved, even up or down stairs. This makes it ideal for the home shop. History: The 8520 was main mass-produced model of this mill.

I can't tell you how often they come up in AZ, but based on comments from others AZ does not seem to be a great place to look for machines. I have an 8520 so tend to notice the price when I see them for sale.

As far as the price from what I've seen $2000-2500 is pretty typical for a Clausing mill in good shape, often even without a vise or tooling.

A couple of things you may want to consider.

These are a relatively light duty mill for their size. Look at the spindle and vertical feed controls, there is a course feed lever and a fine feed hand wheel (removable). These are areas where you can find damage if the machine has been roughly treated. Since it is easily removed the fine feed is sometimes missing.

There was an optional 4" spacer block available. With the size of the mill, this is a very desirable feature as the standard mill only has 12" from table to spindle, the additional 4" is very welcome.