Complete Beginner Help

daddiosquared

Registered
Registered
I'll keep the short as I can I need to make some parts on an on going basis. In many cases the same part over and over. Likely 20 times in a row when I need them. I know nothing about machining, in fact it is my intent to hire someone to do this work but I will need to buy the machine or machines before they come to help me. I have included pictures of the parts I will need to make below. I have had someone else make them for me in the past. Tight budget it an understatement but I also want to get a machine that will do the work and do it fairly quickly. I'd love advice on what type of machine(s) I need and some older used ones that will do the job that I might find on a budget. Thanks for the help! I should mention I have a CNC Plasma cutter already.

IMG_1880.JPG IMG_2147.JPG

from what i can see, punch and dies and then to a fairly large capacity press would be required. but without seeing the back side of the parts, its sorta a crap shoot. . . .
how did the last guy make them ?

from what i can see, punch and dies and then to a fairly large capacity press would be required. but without seeing the back side of the parts, its sorta a crap shoot. . . .
how did the last guy make them ?
I believe they used a CNC plasma cutter to cut the shape then machined the inset with a mill I believe. On the top part. On the bottom part I'm not sure but I think a Lathe.

Given that you are anticipating 20 piece runs, CNC plasma cutting the blank is proabaly the best way to do that since you already have a CNC plasma. A manual lathe and a drill press would finish it off. Keep in mind the a plasma cutter will leave a hard edge at the cut line, so this needs to be considered for subsequent operations.

The other part would be easy to make on a manual lathe. It could also be done easily on a CNC mill.