Counterboring

bahowe1

Registered
Registered
Hello all,
First let me say 'thank you' for the wealth of information I have already learned from you guys, but I needed to finally ask a question I couldn't find an answer to, so I registered. I admit, I am very new to machining, but have been in the engineering field for years, so I appreciate your help.
I have 1/4" aluminum plate that will be cut with water jetting, including some holes. The holes will be .410", but I need a counterbore on top of the hole that's 11/16th" and a depth of only 1/16th" - this is where the machining part comes in. A rubber washer is placed in this recessed counterbore, so the counterbore bottom needs to be flat.
I was 'planning' to use a jig with a pin that's just shy of the 0.410" diameter hole, and the pin would be centered under the drill press. I would place my plate with the 0.41" hole on the pin for alignment, and then use the drill press to cut the counterbore. This is how I was going to do it, in my mind. However, as I look around, I am not sure this is the best way to do it. Tolerance doesn't need to be tight, the head of a carriage bolt is what is compressing the washer and resting on the top surface of the aluminum plate, creating the void for the rubber washer.
What would be the best and quickest way to do this function? I need to do a lot of them, and I actually don't have the drill press, or any of the tools yet, but would be looking to purchase whatever I need. Any thoughts/recommendations?
Thank you in advance!

If the tolerance is loose, that will work.
After you get the plate located, bolt some stops to the table.
That is how I align parts at work, use a known good part, put a pin in a collet or chuck, line it up, run a few thousand parts.

Thank you Jim, so what exactly is the tool name I am looking for? An “11/16ths flat bottomed counterbore”?