Creating a Fly Cutter Bit

ksastronomer

Registered
Registered
Being a novice machinist I find myself searching high and low for useful information to help me get started. Information regarding how to create a fly cutter bit has been difficult to come by, so I created this guide to describe the cutting bit design I adopted. It also shares the results I got with this first attempt. While I'm sure there is much room for improvement, I hope this article is useful to other newbies fishing for similar information. I welcome your thoughts and comments.

Rick

Attachments

• Fly Cutter Bit.pdf
    783.4 KB · Views: 495
Rick,welcome to the forum. You're hitting the ground running, with a presentation like that. Since you ask, I'll try to add a few comments that may help. I have the same flycutter set.

First, there's no arguing with success. Obviously, your first bit worked for you. Good going. Since there are two ends on each tool blank, you might experiment with the other end.

You don't need to take quite so much off to get it to cut. Your drawing shows bottom clearance, looking at the end of your cutter. Just what you need. Because the bit is held at a downward angle and already has the end cut back at an angle, it gives you some back clearance. Here's the experiment: Try just rounding the tip of the bit that will contact the work with a very slight radius - say, 1/32". Then hone it sharp and flat, as you've already commented. I find a small diamond hone to be the best for this. They seem to come up on sale quite cheaply from time to time.

The amount of radius that you add to the tip depends on your use of the cutter. 1/32" radius may work well for roughing cuts, while half that may be best for finish cuts, combined with a slower feed rate.

Your pdf file is excellent. When you get it to where you want it, please submit it to the downloads or articles sections of the forum. It will indeed be useful for members.