Creating Rounded Corners

Calandrod

Registered
Registered
I am just getting into sheet metal work. I did a lot of restoration work on a couple little pedal cars but I am ready to tackle something bigger. I want to create a 1950's style cabinet (the ones that have the rounded corners like this service merchandiser station pictured). I think I'll start with some normal chemical cabinets and then modify it to have rounded corners and add chrome badging and all that.
What is the best way to create that rounded corner?
Screen Shot 2022-11-23 at 11.20.08 AM.png

The only part of that shape that is a compound curve is the corner itself. The rest of the radiused areas are just bends. The corner is a triangular section of a sphere that can be made as a separate part and welded in place.

What kind of tools do you have available and do you have welding skills? I assume the material you will be using is soft steel so there are several possibilities to create this shape with hand tools.

I think a 50t. press would do the job. ;)

Seriously, compound curves are a b***ch to fabricate. Especially if you wanted uniformity for all four corners. One way would be to bend the vertical sides and cut and bend the pieces to form the top curves. Making a die to fit the inside will help to ensure uniformity. From there, you can rig weld the seams and finish by grinding. You might also consider making a separate solid piece to create the complex curves. It would be more manageable to sculpt into your final shape. You could use an existing shape to create a mold and fill with epoxy resin to create the piece. Lacking an existing shape for a pattern, you could carve one out of plaster of Paris. There are various flexible materials used for making reusable molds. Look for some of the arts and crafts videos on You Tube.

Sharpe Corp. sells half spheres. We used to cut wedges out of them for spherical corners. Tack them on a plate for handling.