Deal or No Deal: late 1930's Rockford Economy Lathe w/ 12" swing

Robrods

Registered
Registered
New Member! Been lurking for a few months & looking to buy my first lathe for personal use. I am a total noob to machining; I'm a computer guy by trade. I found a late '30s Rockford Economy lathe with 12" swing advertised locally. Being a noob, I am probably using the wrong search terms, so apologies if I missed a post similar to my question(s). I play with classic cars and I'm looking to make dies for my bead roller, some misc tools, reproduce a few parts, etc.

I inspected a lathe today and seeking opinions if I should buy & repair or am I better off walking (running) away. I've been looking at a new Precision Mathews 1228VF-LB and have read alot about them on this forum (thank you!). The only reason I'm looking at this Rockford is (perceived) lower $$$ entry point.

Issues: When operating the crossfeed manually, there is at least .050 of play when going forward to back. The main feed(?) there is play in the lead screw, I can see the whole shaft move when going from left to right (toward headstock versus toward tailstock), probably .020 to .030. The most troubling issue is when the half nut is engaged the lead screw stops turning. Are these problems major issues or can be reasonably repaired?

The positives are this has been converted to a 3hp 220hp V-belt driven motor, it's 5 miles away, comes with 2 boxes of drill bits, misc tooling, and 2 massive chucks. We are at $1,000 - pending research. So... ideas on what's not working right, other things I should be looking at, and ultimately... deal or no deal?

Attachments

• headstock.jpg
    headstock.jpg
    135.7 KB · Views: 93
  • rear.jpg
    rear.jpg
    104.4 KB · Views: 92
  • replacement_motor.jpg
    replacement_motor.jpg
    118 KB · Views: 84
  • side.jpg
    side.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 78
  • threading_scale.jpg
    threading_scale.jpg
    181.5 KB · Views: 97