Dial test indicator question

fcs

Registered
Registered
How many revolutions of the dial should an .0005 DTI cover, from one stop to the other? This is a $30 Shars I just got online.

why are you concerned with this?
Well, I was going to wait with the big question until I had taken the diagnosis as far as I could.

This is a beginners forum and I am a beginner. I may not use all the correct words. I have a new lathe, my first and probably only lathe, a Sherline 4400. I am interested in lapping some small sleeves with an external hone, using drill blanks as slip fit mandrels, sizes mostly in the range 9/64 to 15/64. But with the Sherline 3-jaw chuck, I am getting huge runout: .005-6 at 1/2 inch from the jaws. The runout is the same using different sized drill blanks, center drills, and an end mill with a 0.5 inch shank. Also a Forstner bit. The high spot always occurs at the same spot on the chuck. Rotating the object in the jaws does not matter.

So my beginners diagnostic sense says the problem might be internal to the chuck, or in the threading of the chuck to the headstock. I disassembled the chuck, gave it a cleaning. I found a few slivers of metal from the tapping of the chuck threads, but visual inspection found nothing in the chuck spiral or the jaw teeth. I greased everything and put it back together. Runout was the same, with the high point at the same place.

I was trying to see if I could find any runout on the face of the chuck. I was having difficulty with getting the DTI positioned to do this. It SEEMED like I had more than 1.3 revolutions in the DTI at my disposal earlier, but I'm not sure. I just wanted make sure I hadn't damaged the DTI with my clumsiness. I have not been able to detect more than about .0005 variation in the chuck face, but its awkward with skipping the slots where the jaws move and the chatter caused by the laser etching.

3-jaw chucks are for speed, 4-jaw chucks are for dialing in.