Difficulty maching mild steel at very small diameters

ChristheClockGuy

Registered
Registered
Hi Guys this is my first post. I have limited experience with my lathe which is a Sherline 4500, bought on recomendation for its precision and accessories. My passion is clocks and for whatever reason I decided to attempt to machine a balance staff pivot. Now these things are tiny , say 1/4 inch in length and have several critical dimensions. my plan is to first make a scaled up (x4) balance staff from mild steel and then move on to what we call in the UK silver steel (Rod steel I think to my U>S friends).
However all seems to be going well in my endeavors apart from machining the smaller diameters which in the x4 staff are about 0.018 inch. i am using quality brazed carbide cutters upon recommendation and the cutters seem centered as no dimple is left when facing and i aligned the cutters with a filed point.
so question is am I asking too much of this mild steel which is UK EN3B which does tend to shear. Is using this steel the likely cause of the tiny diameters shearing?
In the UK we have EN1A which apparently machines to a better finish??? Also is the use of cutting oil causing shocks....should I be using any at all?

Regards
Chris

UK silver steel = drill rod on this side of the pond; the usual variety is a oil hardening steel known as 0-1. I never have tried to turn tiny diameters, so cannot comment on that.

I tried my luck googling "turning a balance staff pivot" and a couple of videos came up. Maybe something in one of those would help you? I had to look up what a turning a balance staff pivot was. Now I know.