DIY heavy duty PM-833 CNC conversion

One thing that I’ve already come across - the AZvideo kit (and, I suspect most other conversion kits) are sized for NEMA 34 motors, but I am leaning towards using a less expensive Chinese servo, and those have a different frame size (80 or 90 mm).
Dave will make the plate for whatever motor mount you need I'm pretty sure.

Before you decide on motors, you need to decide what your controller will be. A windows pc with Mach3/4, an Arduino with GRBL, Linuxcnc with a Mesa card, maybe a EtherCat Master or even something like one of those sweet Masso G3 touch things. Some types of controller might not work with all motors.

I have a shelf with some controller cards on it, a Ethernet Smoothstepper, a Pokey57cnc card because I was originally goign to use mach3 because i have been running if for like 25 years. Then i decided it was dated and switched to linux for this build. Bought 2 Mesa 7i76e cards and then decided on different motors so now I've switched to a OrangePi as a open source LinuxCNC EtherCat master and computer all in one SBC. I want the ProbeBasic GUI and touch screen so really I wont need any of those other cards anymore.

Cheap Chinese servos might not tune very well anyway, if you are going with a Chinese company going at least go with a reputable one like Leadshine. Personally I would stay away from away the crap like those ali-express JMC motors.

Eric

I have already bought a Mesa 7I76e card. I also bought a couple of those LED driver cards to play with (ColorCNC).
I’m going to use a Rpi 4 as the computer.
The motors I’m looking at are from Lichuan. Tuning is a big issue. Their drivers have a “self learn” setting, but who knows how good that will be.
I’ve been learning about servo tuning, and I think I can do it without the fancy manufacturer’s software. There is a video by “Vhospher” on youtube: How to Tune Cheap Chinese Servos Drives