Do I Need A Universal Tool Grinder?

Dan_S

Active User
Registered
I've been into woodworking and metalworking for a while now, and I've been pondering some type of grinder build for a few years now. The other night I sat down and came up with a short list of tools that need to be ground. Some of them I do myself on a cheap 6" bench grinder, some I send out to be ground, and some are toss and buy replacements.

Woodworking
  1. chisels (edges and backs)
  2. had plane blades (edges and backs)
  3. making/sharpening awl tips
  4. making/sharpening marking knife/gauge blades
  5. woodworking lathe tools
  6. Forstner drill bits (would be nice to do myself)
  7. brad point drill bits (would be nice to do myself)
  8. regular drill bits
  9. router bits (would be nice to do myself)
  10. saw blades (would be nice to do myself)
Metalworking
  1. hss lathe tool bits
  2. brazed carbide lathe tool bits
  3. regular twist drill bits (split point, multi facet)
  4. spotting drills
  5. center drills
  6. endmill ends (would be nice)
  7. endmill flutes (would be nice to do myself)
  8. slitting saws (would be nice to do myself)
  9. random other mill cutters (would be nice to do myself)

if I where to build or buy something like an old union grinder, would that work for all my grinding needs?
http://www.lathes.co.uk/uniontool&cuttergrinder/

Most of that stuff can being either free hand ground or touched up with a stone pretty easily. Stuff like the Forstner bit and Brad points are fixed on an oil stone. Flutes need a tool grinder. Slitting saws can be dressed by hand unless they are chipped, I send my saw blades back to Forrest and would even with a tool grinder since they re-tip and straighten them as needed.

All that said, you do need a tool grinder. You really do. Just think how awesome it would be to have one. Just tell the wife that it will make you happy, and that you will take her to Hawaii in exchange. (sorry, I just had to give you some goading :) ).