Dowel jig

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I'm making a Greene and Greene style sofa end table (for me), and I decided to get it done in my lifetime I would not use mortise and tenon joints but use simple dowel joints. I want to use two dowels in each connection, so for 4 legs there are a bunch of cross connecting pieces. Each leg has two joints at 90 degrees, at three vertical positions, and to avoid dowels interfering from adjacent connections, I offset each face with one of two dowel positions. So I got a couple McMaster Carr drill bushings and made a jig that fits three sizes of joints in two configurations of drill holes. It's type A on one side, turn it over and upside down and it's B position. Armed with a sketch of the table I've marked each connection with A or B side hole positions. If I can keep it straight, it looks like this will work.

IMG_3463.jpegIMG_3465.jpegIMG_3464.jpeg

Dowels don't have the strength that you will need. The junk from ikea is made with dowels. What is so hard about a mortise and tendon joint?

Dowels don't have the strength that you will need. The junk from ikea is made with dowels. What is so hard about a mortise and tendon joint?
Ha ha, I am sure they will. Nothing is particularly hard about mortise and tenon, but it takes a bit more setup time. I have a mortising machine, do these joints frequently. This time, I'm not interested in that path.

I’m interested to see your finished effort. I like the Greene and Greene stuff — it has a very nice feel about it.

Simply not true. Many side-by-side tests you can find on youtube show dowels are roughly equal to dominos in strength when using a 2:1 ratio of dowels to dominos, and dominos are a staple of quality furniture these days. A good doweling jig can easily pack 15-20 dowels into a single large joint.

As stated above dowels have plenty of strength and should work fine for the OP's project.