Drill bit storage ideas

Ultradog MN

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have an embarrassingly large collection of drill bits. Maybe it's a sickness but I love drill bits - especially morse taper ones.
But laying all jumbled in drawers is not conducive to finding the one you want to use.
I am looking for some ideas on how you guys store, index and label yours.
Maybe plywood with holes drilled it it?
Maybe set the plywood at an angle?
In a cabinet? Not in a cabinet
Make a couple of daisy wheels on an open stand that you can rotate?
I want it to be nice. Not some schlocky old thing.
There are straight shank and taper shank.
How do you guys do it.
Another question:
My lathe and drill press are both # 3 MT.
I have #1, 2 and 3 MT drills.
Do I really need the 1 MT drills?
Should I sell them and concentrate on just filling out the other two sets?
Do I really need duplicates?
Just rambling on here but I'd like to organize them better, pare down the excess ones and streamline finding the one I want to use.

Attachments

• 2023-09-23_09_09_45.jpg
    2023-09-23_09_09_45.jpg
    595.8 KB · Views: 32
  • 2023-09-23_09_10_00.jpg
    2023-09-23_09_10_00.jpg
    539.2 KB · Views: 30
  • 2023-09-23_09_10_19.jpg
    2023-09-23_09_10_19.jpg
    450.9 KB · Views: 29
  • 2023-09-23_09_10_55.jpg
    2023-09-23_09_10_55.jpg
    800.4 KB · Views: 28
  • 2023-09-23_09_16_07.jpg
    2023-09-23_09_16_07.jpg
    631.9 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:
One of my projects these next few days is to organize ( somewhat ) all drill bits and taps that came home . 1000s of them ! My idea is to sort these into small flat rate boxes . The taps will be easy but the drills I'll start out with .050 increments on each box . I just can't seem to come up with a better way at the moment . End mills and reamers maybe the same way . :dunno:

I'll keep my eyes on this for any ideas from any other hoarders aboard . :grin: