Drilling Holes in Rod on my Lathe

DoctorBill

Registered
Registered
I am an amateur - perhaps what I am asking about is a dumb question to most machinists.

I am experiencing something strange when I drill holes in Threaded Rod to make a Reloading Die (sizer)
using my 9" ENCO Bench Lathe.

I drilled a starter 'guide' hole thru a 1 inch long piece of threaded Rod with a 1/4 inch drill.
The hole measured 0.249", as expected, with my calipers. No problems.

I was going for a 0.318" hole.

So - I put an "O" drill in the chuck and drilled it out. Came out 0.326" - not 0.316" !!!!

I tried AGAIN, but this time I used the smaller 5/16" drill into the 1/4" pre-drilled hole....
it came out 0.324" - NOT 0.313" !!!!

So - I thought my Lathe is out of alignment (Runout). But the Main Chuck lines up
with the Tailstock Chuck (using very small center drills in each). ? ? ? ?

NOW - here's the rub....I tried AGAIN with a piece of threaded rod, again pre-drilled with
a 1/4" drill. THEN I enlarged the hole one letter drill at a time until I got to the
"O" drill... NOW the hole measures 0.318" - What I wanted to begin with !

Does anyone know why the first two holes would come out seven thousandths larger (or more)
than they should have ? I cannot see why that would be. The drills check out in size with
my calipers.

DoctorBill

Really tough to get an on size hole using a twist drill. A safer bet is to get it close( but undersize ) with a drill, and then either ream it, or use a boring bar.

Just googled 'DIY reamer' and had a bunch of hits. Some use music wire for smaller holes, maybe you could grind a drill bit after chopping off the fluted section ?

Money limits me.

DoctorBill
You say money limits you, so let me ask are your drill bits bought on line, or low cost ones from a big box store? If so they are probably made in china and not very accurately ground. this will cause them to drill oversize.