Drilling On Milling Machine

faavs730222

Registered
Registered
Hi All,

I am still very new to Milling Machines (metal working as a whole for that matter).

I have a RF45 Clone milling Machine (Zay7045fg).

I have Harold Hall's Book "Lathework, a complete course", I am busy with the first project, the Mini Surface Gauge. It requires to drill 4 x holes 10mm apart on a shaft. I decided to do it on the milling machine.

I used my edge finder to find the edge of the shaft on X and Y to get datum markers.

I advanced the x axis 10mm end center drilled the firs hole. Then I advanced it another 10mm and
center drilled the second hole. I continued and center drilled all 4 holes. then I went back to my original position on the x axis and from the datum advanced it 10mm to the first center drilled hole and drilled it 6.1mm. I did all 4 holes. Again I went back to my original datum position on the X Axis and Counter shank the first hole, but the counter sink were off center, although I started form the original position.

So what would be the correct way to approach this job? To center drill the first hole, then drill it to size and the counter sink it, and then proceed to the next hole?

I made sure that I take up the back lash.

I do not have a DRO on the milling machine, so I used the lead screw dials.

Any suggestions?

On a non-DRO equiped machine, I would do what Jake said and finish each hole before moving onto the the next.

+1. Only down side is lots of tool changing. You should also make sure you do not need to move the head up and down when changing tools. That will often move the spindle position away from the original position, causing the kind of errors you are seeing.