Fasteners : Screws Vs Taper Pins Vs Dowels

BillWood

Registered
Registered
Hello,

Following issues raised in another thread am wondering what books websites etc I have to read to better understand when to use screws vs taper pins vs dowels for holding things together ?

And what place do modern adhesives have in metalworking - ie I am aware of various strengths of loctite and am also aware of 2 part epoxy.

Haven't seen much discussion of these things in my various books.

I guess most of my books are about using the tools to cut things up rather than sticking things together - is there a good basic fabrication or sticking things together book ?

Bill

Great questions!

As an old tool&die maker building maintaining stamping dies, I have been working with dowel pins for many years.

So when should dowel pins be used?

Dowel pins are used in conjunction with the bolts to maintain precise alignment of the parts of the tooling. There is always some lateral movement possible with bolts, if they fit tight in the bore, you couldn't get the bolt in. Dowel pins also allow you to remove the tooling from the base (die set) for sharpening and repairs and be able to put the tooling back exactly where it was without having to go through the initial build alignment procedure all over again. When dies are built, the tooling is bolted into place, then aligned properly, then as about the last operation, the dowel pin holes are drilled and reamed for a tight fit. The dowel pins prevent any lateral movement, while the bolts secure the tooling to the die set. Dowel pins are normally installed with a tight fit, requiring a hammer & punch or a press to install and remove. Normally installed in through drilled holes so they can be punched through to remove.

So bottom line, if you don't want any lateral movement in any assembly, use dowel pins to prevent that.