Feedback on 3D Printed Enclosure

ycroosh

Active User
H-M Supporter - Commercial Member
Good part of the day,
I'm working on 3D printed enclosures for the TouchDRO boards and would like to get a bit of feedback. (I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to 3D printing...)
I will be selling a kit that includes the board, 3D printed parts and M3 hardware, and will make the files available for download for people who have a 3D printer.
So far I came up with this:

20200827_101426.jpg

20200827_101221.jpg

20200827_103002.jpg

I generally tent to abuse 3M double sided tape, so I didn't include any mounting tabs. Should I?
I printed this in PLA on Prusa i3 Mk.3 with the flat sides facing the bed (similar to how it would look in the bottom picture). There are no long overhangs, but there are 45 degree chamfers on the lid and the bottom. The lid has a bit of a register, but it's chamfered too, so there is a bit of play left.

I'd be curious to hear any feedback or critique.
Thank you
Yuriy

Fantastic. So the screws for the top would go through board and hold everything, right? To me that’s perfect. I would prefer mounting tabs as everything in the area of my mill ends up with a fine mist of oil and 3m tape fails eventually. Personally an tab down the whole side would hopefully be enough to mount to, or something that could attach to the mount for the cell phone screen? I’ve been waiting for you to get to this point to order a kit for my RF30 as I’m so over the individual screens. Your board has a place to plug a USB wall wart to power everything?

forced ditto :(

Last edited:
Tony,
Thank you for the feedback.
To answer your question - yes, these are 16mm M3 screws (need to be sensitive to the rest of the world where 6-32 is a rare animal :) ). The board slips in-and-forward, so the four Micro-USB connectors are supported by the enclosure. The screws fit snugly into the holes, so they keep the board aligned.
I added tabs on both sides (tried one side, but it was a bit floppy).