Feedback on first lathe - 8x14 600W variable speed lathe CJ210A

wachuko

Professor of Pending Projects
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hello, newbie here looking for guidance. If this is not the right section to place this question, admin please move to the correct section.

I want to get started in learning how to use a metal lathe but first I have to buy one. Reading several threads those folks that have gone with a mini (7x12) find that an 8x12" (or 14") would have been a better option... So I decided to start looking at those sizes... this thread pretty much convinced me of this:

I am trying to get into learning with the least amount of $$ possible...

I do not have an initial project in mind. But I have seen a few videos on improving an HF 20-ton press that would be perfect for a few things to make. So as a first set of projects, I would like to make all the mods to my press, shown in this video:

I do have motorcycles that I am always working on, as well as projects with my cars. At this point I just want to have a lathe to start messing around with it, but I want something that will be low cost of entry while still holding me for awhile.

I was pretty much set on the Harbor Freight 8x12 until I saw this one on eBay - 8x14 600W Variable speed Metal Lathe :

8x14 Metal Lathe-eBay.jpg

But I can't seem to find any reviews on it... I did find this video but it is not the same unit...

So my questions are:

1. Am I thinking straight here that a 8x12/14" lathe would be a good starting point for a newbie?
2. Is that eBay lathe a better option than the HF lathe? The eBay one goes for around US$680.00... the HF would be around US$600.00 (20% discount coupon and tax)

Thank you in advanced for all your comments.

Last edited:
I just want to avoid spending 1,600.00 for a G078Z or even 2930.00 for a G0752Z (wich is the one I really like).

Easy for me to speak of what I want when I am completely clueless...