Finally Got Some Spotting Drills

MrWhoopee

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I had never heard of them before the internet informed me that I'd been doing it wrong all along. Harry taught us to use center drills, Fred did the same. When I looked around for some spotting drills, they were crazy expensive (for what they are). Found these a few days ago and ordered an assortment.

Carbide Spotting Drills

We ( old timers ) were not taught wrong . Spotting drills were made for CNC production machines . Z depths were cut 75% and tool setting was simple to achieve the required chamfer angle and diameter . Just another tool to cut production costs .

I'd like to make a Spot/Chamfer Drill Tool suggestion (used on CNC or Manual, Mills and Lathes)
I've been using these for about 20 years, they're Carbide (I prefer uncoated) double end and can Spot and Chamfer Mill part edges.
They also have a bit of a chisel edge @ the Point which helps the point live longer (particularly when used in harder materials).
I find them reasonably priced ($38.66/ea for the linked size example), they offer various sizes, angles, coated or uncoated versions.

https://www.travers.com/product/promax-132-01520-spotting-drill-20-726-250

I had never heard of them before the internet informed me that I'd been doing it wrong all along. Harry taught us to use center drills, Fred did the same. When I looked around for some spotting drills, they were crazy expensive (for what they are). Found these a few days ago and ordered an assortment.

Carbide Spotting Drills
Let me know after using them if you think it makes a difference over using center drills.