First Lathe, Logan 1875 Tooling Questions

aztoyman

Active User
Registered
Just got my first lathe. A Logan 1875. Only tooling is a 3 jaw chuck, a face plate with no dogs, a #2 MT dead center and a 4 way tool post.

I'm thinking I need at least a #2 MT live center for the tail stock, a drill chuck for the tail stock, a #3 MT dead center and dog or dogs for the face plate and some 3/8" ? HSS blanks for the 4 way. I'll need to learn how to grind bits too. I have a bench grinder with the Multi -Tool belt adapter and a wire wheel on the opposite side. Still need a stone to grind bits?

Should I just go for the Phase II wedge AXA QCTP right from the get go? Can I use HSS blanks in it or do I have to buy a cutting tool set? What parting tool?

What size and style drill chuck for the tail stock? Keyed or Keyless? I see #2 MT types up to 3/4". Once I drill a hole I need a boring tool set?

I'm totally new to this. Just going by you tube videos and reading posts as far as learning. Anybody in NW Tucson want to help out a newb?

At this point, I just need to make simple parts like bushings and shafts and turn parts down to modify as needed for my home projects. Probably just mild steel, aluminum, maybe some brass or plastic. Probably just steel for now.

I just need to tool up at this point for easy projects to learn how to use my lathe. Basic lathe operation.

This is my first post. Hope I didn't break any rules. I did a lot of searching on this site before asking.

Well let see. I'm thinking maybe $200 for a AXA quick change, MT2 live center and a bunch of HSS blanks. Most quick change sets come with
all the holders, like a parting tool, a knurler, tool holders a boring bar & holder. Although most made over the pond, they work. I wouldnt worry
too much about drive dogs a simple muffler clamp will do. That will get you up and running. Next a good 4 Jaw chuck. After all we been living with