Forced into new CAD System (could be a good thing)

Boswell

Hobby Machinist since 2010
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I have been using Autocad products since the early 1980's when the first version was available for the then new IMB PC platform (ACAD and ACAD286). For the last 10 years I have been using ACAD 12. I have gotten very comfortable with this version and drawing in 3D.
then disaster struck when I had to re-install ACAD 12 a few days ago due to a computer issue. When I got it installed and entered my license #. It would not Authorize. It appears that it is no longer supported and they don't want me to keep using it. I could go on a rant here but instead I used this as an opportunity to install Fusion 360. I was pretty discouraged at the long road of learning a complex piece of software that I had ahead of me.

Fast forward 4 days and while it has been somewhat intense, I have completed a design that I had started in ACAD12. By no means have I got it all figured out, but I am much further along than I expected. In fact, I am already finding some things I like better and can get meaningful work done.

I was dragged into 3D CAD kicking and screaming all the way. Like you, I had been using ACAD 2000 for years and it wouldn't install on my new computer. So a few years ago I switched over to Fusion 360. Things that sometimes took hours in ACAD can be done in minutes in Fusion. There is a learning curve, but well worth it. Having the built in CAM is really helpful also.

Having said that, NanoCAD 5 is pretty much a clone of ACAD and is free. I was making drawings in it in about 5 minutes after installing it. I still use it for some things that Fusion does not do well, like electrical schematics.

I use DipTrace for schematics and board layouts. So I am good there. I heard about NanoCAD but was hesitant about spending time on something with little or no track record. Possibly next year when the bill for Fusion360 comes due again ...