G0709 gearbox: cutting wrong thread pitch

Would it be possible for you to show a picture for the Change Gears from both a Face View and Edge View?

Most definitely the F configuration! Here it is:

DSC_1822.JPGDSC_1823.JPG

@mksj I didn't know the difference between this quick change gearbox and a Norton. I'm new to this, thanks for the correction! I have another rabbit hole to go down now!

Another naive question - any chance you're engaging the power feed instead of the halfnuts?

That would easily explain it if I did!

I had just minutes before been doing some work on the mini-lathe before where there's only a halfnut for both feed and thread, and I wonder if I did just that?

The chance that a dial is newly-misaligned without me noticing it seems very small relative to the chance that I transferred the wrong control while focusing on the gearbox. And because I wasn't disengaging it between passes, it would be easy not to notice it from one pass being horribly misaligned with the prior pass.

I think I just used the magician's trick of redirection on myself. Good job me! :oops:

I don't think you succeeded in asking a naive question. Thank you for bringing an open mind to the question of what I might have done wrong.

I'll have to try again this evening, but I would be shocked if you didn't hit the nail on the head.

I'm embarrassed but relieved by this likely explanation, and if I find out I was wrong I'll be back for a second round.

FYI, threw my G0709 into FARW8 and touched off on a Dykem'd piece of Delrin. I got 0.7 mm for the thread.

20200518_171705.jpg

Scratch pass is spot-on 0.70 mm pitch as it should be
20200518_171939.jpg

Just to verify your "8" spot, maybe try a scratch pass on FCTY8 for a 28 tpi thread?
20200518_155908.jpg

To a post above's point, this one is the half-nut lever for threading (just in case). The one to the left is the Feed Selection Lever (not for threading).
1589845903311.png