Gears...

vimes1984

Registered
Registered
Hey all,
I own a mini conquest lathe:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Chester-Machine-Tools-Hobby-Store/dp/B079S9KRNW

And I have broken two gears that connect the spindle to the autofeed, these are the exact replacements:
https://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/Catalogue/Machine-Spares/C3-Mini-Lathe-Spares/C3-39-Pinion-25T
https://www.arceurotrade.co.uk/Catalogue/Machine-Spares/C3-Mini-Lathe-Spares/C3-41-Pinion-20T

I have two questions regarding this:
1) I'd prefer not to buy these but make my own, is there a jig/rig I can purchase for the mini lathe to cut gears? ( I've been reading they are called "hobbing" machines but I can't seem to find a place to either buy or a detailed build tutorial.
2) If I do have to buy them I'd prefer to buy them in steel rather than nylon, does anyone in europe know where I can get them?

Kind regards
Chris

P·.S I'm REALLY new at this go easy :D

You may want to stick with nylon since the factory often intends them to be "sacrificial" gears; if you crash the machine they break first rather than something else more expensive. They don't look that expensive- 6 pounds or so is a relative bargain I would say:cool:
Gears are usually cut on a milling machine, it's possible on a lathe but more difficult especially if the lathe is small and lacking rigidity.
I believe hobs are used for helical gears not straight cut gears? Check the internet for more information
Aluminum gears would be much easier to make than steel.
Mark

Cutting gears requires some specialized tooling as well as advanced machining skills. It is possible to cut the gears on a mill with the hobbing cutter or with a form tool bit in a fly cutter but you will need an indexing tool such as a rotaey table, or a dividing head to precisely rotate the blank to cut each tooth. There have been a number of articles in various forums and on You Tube which should give you an idea as to what is involved.