[4]

Gorton I 22 Mastermill Serial #

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
Hello All,
I have three questions I hope someone can help with;
I am new to the forum and to machining in general, so please bear with me. I just purchased a used Gorton, seller states it's an I 22 Mastermill. I am in the process of getting this monster picked up and brought home, I only have photos, which could be better. In the meantime; 1. I was hoping to run down the O.E.M specs, year built, and model# of machine via serial #, no joy on internet.
It has an original nameplate, Serial # 41183, 3 ph, 3 Hp, 60 Hz. It looks like it is a manually controlled spindle speed, 0- 5600 rpm, per seller. Comes w/ six 9B Hardinge collets. It's equipped w/ an Accurite III X and Y axis DRO and a supplemental motor brake ( "Short Stop"). 2. Can this machine be powered with a VFD? I only have 220 single phase, (sub panel coming soon) in my garage. If so, I will likely get a Lenze SM Vector.
3. Are Brown & Sharpe #9 the same spindle taper as the Hardinge 9B?I am wondering if finding a tool holder/adapter is going to be difficult.
I know that's a lot of info, so any help would be most welcome.

Thank You

s-l500.jpg

s-l500.jpg

s-l64.jpg

s-l500.jpg

s-l64.jpg
 
Last edited:

benmychree

John York
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
3,138
According to my Machine Tool Serial Number Book, your mill was made in 1960; 1960 started with 41509, 1961 starts with 47059, it was first built in 1955.
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19

DiscoDan

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jul 16, 2018
Messages
370
At one point I had my eye on an 8 1/2D for $900 but I decided a small bench mill fits my very limited space better.
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
HI Marc,
Looks like he should have used some kind of oil,020508-gortons-fisherman.jpg lol. Little rusty for a California machine. I'll have to clean it up.
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
Still getting used to the format here, bear with me. That's a nice looking set up Joe. I am much relieved to hear that a VFD will work, wasn't sure how the brake would respond and later perhaps a power feed. I'd have been in trouble otherwise. Do you like the Teco?
Dan, space is always at a premium around here too, I have two hobbies and they both take a ton of space, one side of a three car garage is for woodworking, the other steel, welding, forge, etc. May the two never meet. Getting into some black/bladesmithing lately.
 

Liljoebrshooter

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
118
I cussed the Teco at first when I was trying to get it up and running. After actually reading the instructions I figured out I had a couple settings wrong. I haven't ran this thing much yet. I am still trying to finish the one shot oiler.
Mine has a factory power feed on it. I has a transformer to convert it to DC. I was worried about that, but it is 220v single phase to 70v DC.
I will try to answer any questions you have.

Here is a picture of the mill when I bought it.
20180202_171926.jpg
Joe Hynes
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
Thanks for all the help guys. Another newbie question, sorry. Anybody ever have to get one of these under a standard garage door header? Seller says machine is 80" and lip of rolling overhead is 79". Could cheat a little by rolling it back, but still have to get my forklift under it. That's a little too close for comfort, hate to have to buy this dude a garage door. Does the head assembly pivot on these like a bridgeport? Or might I have to either take/motor head loose or sling it sideways, I'd REALLY rather not, never taken one apart. pretty decent at rigging though and have the tools. I figure there will be maybe 16"-18" headroom inside building. Going to go down the weekend of Nov 3rd/4th.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Chad
 

Liljoebrshooter

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
118
Yes the head rotates. There are 3 bolts on the head that need to be loosened up and the head can be rotated with the crank on the side of the ram.
It will only move about 90 degrees unless you remove the bottom bolt.
I will try to attach a picture.
Joe Hynes 20180127_114456.jpg
 

Liljoebrshooter

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
118
The crank to rotate the head is just in front of the lifting hook in that pic. A crescent wrench will work.
Here is a picture of the gear that turns it.20180602_213202.jpg20180603_182451.jpg
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
Thank You Joe! that helps a lot. I was sweating that one a bit.
I appreciate your help.
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
So... I went to L.A and got my new old mill. It was BURIED in seller's garage and we had to detach garage door and remove stiffener to get it out. Had to use a drag chain, pucker factor= 9.75. Good news was it's in a lot better shape than the pics show, and has a power feed. Bad news.. my ground crew of one sucked, tag line not held tight when I picked it up with slings, bumped into forklift mast, not real hard but enough. Wondering if the ways got messed up. Thus, we snapped the right side table control feed (hand wheel) off. It appears to be like a 3/8" stud. Any idea if it's left or right hand thread? Thinking about trying an easy-out to remove the broken stud, but likely would get only one shot at it. Don't want to try it and make it worse. What do you guys think?

Another odd thing Joe, this is the part you might get a good laugh at a knucklehead- I followed your suggestion to remove bolts to rotate head. When I did so, it began to leak oil at about a 20 degree tilt, from behind the slide lever on head, left side of machine, so I stopped and replaced bolts. Does that mean it's simply overfull of oil or perhaps a bad seal? I assume the graduated ring between ram and head is there for a reason and one can operate the mill at an angle?

The seller had a pretty good manual, parts list etc. if anybody would like them uploaded let me know.

For anyone crazy enough to try this move yourself, the shortest forklift mast I could find is at standard door frame height, 82-5/8". Just too tall for std. door. One I had was 87". Also, these mills were equipped with an eyebolt for picking them up, at top/center of ram. In my case it had been replaced with a bolt to mount the arm of the accurite DRO, so I had to sling it under the ram. Weight is approx 2800 lbs. 3/4 ton diesel pick up handled it in the bed. Had all trailer could handle w/ the forklift on it. One heck of a ride home.
 

JRock1000

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
15
I just picked one up on Thursday. It's got the same head, different Dyna Drive Box.
That's nice you have the powerfeed for the knee.
You hauled it in the bed of a 3/4" pickup?
 

JRock1000

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
15
Mine's S/N 39441. I can't find any info. It's got a 40 taper nose, but I can't fit a 5/8" drawbar down through the top. It's weird.
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
I just picked one up on Thursday. It's got the same head, different Dyna Drive Box.
That's nice you have the powerfeed for the knee.
You hauled it in the bed of a 3/4" pickup?
Hi JRock, I did, but it was in a 2500 HD Jimmy diesel with a ladder rack so had I some tie downs, was a little bit unstable, but only had to go a couple hundred miles. Worst part was the 10,000 lb forklift on the trailer behind it lol, but can be done. Huge pucker factor, lol. I Don't recommend it unless you're nuts like me, or unafraid when you really should be, unless you're traversing fairly flat ground or have an Allison type set up, going over California grapevine was a little hairy. As it turns out, an old LINDE brand forklift has a an 81.5" inch mast. so one could can get it under a standard garage door, carefully. Nice looking machine BTW. Take it real easy in the corners if going over the mountains lol.I drove big trucks for 20 years, so felt a little more skilled in the deal.They wanted 2600 bones too do it for me, think because it was residential to residential. If u get stuck, let me know...
 
Last edited:

JRock1000

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
15
I rented a trailer. Never driven a trailer before. It was only 100 miles, but felt like a LONG 100 miles :cool:
I can't imagine having it in the back of the truck.
Earlier this year I hauled a 14.5" South Bend in the bed, and my 1/2 ton carried the weight alright, but I took the base off so it wasn't top heavy.

P1080071.JPG

P1080070.JPG
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
That would do it my friend, I have skated all over the US in big trucks. Trailers kind be spooky for a newbie. Nice looking machines, just picked up an old Kalamazoo too, still in the truck due to Linde being in for repair lol
 

63steward

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
19
Hi JRock, I did, but it was in a 2500 HD Jimmy diesel with a ladder rack so had I some tie downs, was a little bit unstable, but only had to go a couple hundred miles. Worst part was the 10,000 lb forklift on the trailer behind it lol, but can be done. Huge pucker factor, lol. I Don't recommend it unless you're nuts like me, or unafraid when you really should be, unless you're traversing fairly flat ground or have an Allison type set up, going over California grapevine was a little hairy. As it turns out, an old LINDE brand forklift has a an 81.5" inch mast. so one could can get it under a standard garage door, carefully. Nice looking machine BTW. Take it real easy in the corners if going over the mountains lol.I drove big trucks for 20 years, so felt a little more skilled in the deal.They wanted 2600 bones too do it for me, think because it was residential to residential. If u get stuck, let me know...
Where do you live? have aa couple machinist friends
 

JRock1000

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
15
I'm in PA. Not far from Philadelphia.
Liljoebrshooter : What taper do you have on yours?
I've got a 40 taper on mine, but a 5/8" drawbar won't fit through the spindle.
I'm trying to figure out if this has been retrofit, or if it comes from the factory like that.
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top