Greetings, introductions and so forth.

sandgink

Registered
Registered
Greetings All,

Having read through numerous posts I decided it was time to introduce myself and my lathe.

I am a long time hobby metal worker I also work in wood but prefer metal. I am an Engineer by day and tinkerer, repairer, modifier by night. I also run a screen printing business out of my home. I live in rural Iowa Northeast of Waterloo or gods country as we call it. Where the men are men and the sheep are nervous. I spend 16 years of my life working for Schnieder Electric the french company that purchased Square D, (the circuit breaker company), if you ever have a chance to work for the french, a little advice, PASS. 2 years ago I left Mega global company for small family owned Ambulance manufacturer and I have never been happier.

I have wanted a Metal lathe ever since I was in high school where I spent my study hall time cranking out 1 hitters at 15 bucks a pop. and other such items. 6 years ago I found a lathe for sale in the local buy and sell. I contacted the seller and went to take a look. The lathe had belonged to her late husband who had purchased it in Keokuk Iowa at an estate auction.
The selling price $600, but she insisted I take all the material and tooling that was in boxes. Well I suppose.

When I arrived home I contacted clausing to get a manual and any other information they might have. When I gave the Lady the Model and serial she said it wasn't in the system and that she would call me back.

4 days later she called me, she had contacted someone who retired from clausing years ago, and here is what she found out.

Model 111
serial "special"

According to her this was one of 4 lathes that was used at clausing for testing new designs. it looks like a 100 Mk3a but has a 200 apron. I will post photos soon, as I am in the process of restoring it.