Grizzly G4003Gm floor mount, or not?

Steve 1

Registered
Registered
Hello Folks:

I'm a newbie to this forum, looking to pick your brains on a question relating to how best to mount my new shiny G4003G lathe, vis. hard floor mount, or adjustable feet? I have a well used G9072Z lathe, nice but not quite enough, I have that on 4" wooden beams (more height) and that's bolted to my shop concrete floor.
That lathe works fine, it's about 500 lbs... but again it's just not enough. The new G4003G is about 1200lbs, so more rigid and much heavier.

I have a mild concern about the front / back narrowness of the G4003G's lathe stands, and have seen a few postings from years ago about bolting it to the floor, or some form of extended sled... permitting it to move around.... One gent had pictures of what looked like 2x4" box section steel, to extend the footings 6" out from the stands.

My basement shop is currently being sound proofed (for my wife's sanity) and I'll remove the old G9072Z, and replace it with the G4003G... But wanted some input from those with the same or similar machines. It may be OCD, or am I just overthinking this?

I'd appreciate any suggestions, I'm a retired engineer / avid basement tinkerer, living in darkest Florence, MT.

Best Wishes for a better 2024!

Steve 1

Last edited:
Welcome Steve
I had the PM 1340GT version of that lathe, and used the adjusting bolts for leveling the lathe with "extension" pads to raise the height of the bed. I did not detect any type of instability once it was in place. One thing I did not care for was the 100% loss lube system for the Norton style gears.
If you are a tinkerer your 1236 is similar to the 1340GT, then you will then love David P Best's upgrades to his 1340GT, his work is awesome, and will keep you busy for awhile :)
The full build log is here: https://flic.kr/s/aHskYxDKzN