[4]

Hand Tool Ideas

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

machinst Jo

Registered
Looking for idea or plans for diffrent hand tools I can make.

T

TOOLMASTER

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!
hammers are easy

A

Andre

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!
Hammers, punches, scribe, indicator holders, file handles.

cascao

Active User
Registered
Transfer punch, Tap guides, die holders...

chips&more

Active User
Registered
Anybody in prison would love to have a file and hacksaw:grin:.

neshkoro

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
The good (or sad) thing is so much of that stuff is so inexpensive these days that it is now worth your effort to make them. Things like v blocks, parallels and the like can be bought very cheap compared to the cost of buying the material, doing the machining, heat treating them and then grinding after. When I was an apprentice 50 years ago if you wanted it you had to make it. You couldn't afford it. Just my opinion.
Bill

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

minions

Registered
Mill stop, a 5 axis will cost you some coin if you buy new.

BGHansen

Micrometer stop for the lathe. Spring loaded tap guide for the tail stock. Handle for holding needle files. As mentioned above, it's tough to justify the time for the tap guide (for example) when you can buy one for under $20 from Enco, think I've seen them for $5. However, the more we work in our shops the more proficient we get. It's not all about efficiently spending money vs. time, sometimes it's just FUN to make something you can show off or better yet use. I still use a small ball peen hammer I made in shop class as a 7th grader. I have a set of HF ball peen's for under $20, but still go to my shop made one for center punching.

Bruce

Whyemier

Active User