[Newbie] help building my skills

dball

Registered
Registered
okay guys i am new to both this site and machining.I just picked up a pm45 and i know nothing about it or machining and would like to get more familiar with everything.Im in the process of saving for school but in the mean time i would like to learn a little befor i go,so if any one can help me with some easyer projects and pointers that would be grate.Reason i got the mill was to use for my gun part kits that i will be building at some point plus i always wanted to get into machining! but now that i have it i cant think of a darn thing to make! i still have to get afew more things for my part kits so i can build. thanks for any help or projects guy's.

Welcome to the site. Lots of gunsmiths in the crowd.

I would advise you to pick up some scrap mild steel and reduce it to chips before trying to machine any of your kit parts. The concept of machining is quite easy. You take a block of metal bigger than the part you want and remove everything that doesn't look like the part you want.

In practice, there are many things that will take off bits you wanted to leave on. Practicing is necessary so that you will learn what to expect under a wide variety of operations.

Reduce the first block to scrap. Make a drawing of some shape for the second block, along with some real dimensions. Then do what it takes to reach those dimensions without going over. You don't want to learn these lessons with expensive kit parts.

When you get ready to start on your first part would it be possible to post a drawing or description of it? That way you could get some responses on how to go about tackling it.