Help Traming Round Column Mill

Playingwithmetal

Registered
Registered
I am once again in need of some of your advice. I am new to this old Taiwan model jet 15 mill drill. I do not understand where the shims will be placed directly my the traming process. The base does not detach from the round colum in any way that I can see. Here are the pics of my dilemma. I am sure it is a simple case of lack or understanding on my part.
Thanks in advance
Dylan

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

I am once again in need of some of your advice. I am new to this old Taiwan model jet 15 mill drill. I do not understand where the shims will be placed directly my the traming process. The base does not detach from the round colum in any way that I can see. Here are the pics of my dilemma. I am sure it is a simple case of lack or understanding on my part.
Thanks in advance
Dylan

View attachment 120350 View attachment 120351 View attachment 120352 View attachment 120354
4 cap screws at the base are loosened and shims placed in appropriate place to bring into tram. If the front is low you add shim to front of base. Front high shim back. Same with left and right sides.
Re tighten and check continuing until it is trammed. Good idea to have plenty of shim thicknesses.
Can be a tedious process but when it's done it is done.

When I loosen the cap screws are the shims placed between the round column and the green base? The base (green part) is all one piece. So still unsure where the shims actually go.
Thanks for your reply.

I think paint and Bondo are making it appear that the base is one piece when it really is two separate parts. Once you loosen the cap screws slightly and push on the column, you should see a parting line, which is the joint that will need the shims -- Jack

Just a suggestion, use a 6" (or longer) arm to move the indicator away from the center. That will give you considerably greater correction.