Help wiring a Dayton motor SB9A

Shackelford R

Registered
Registered
Ok so I need a little help the South bend 9A that followed me home was overhauled not painted (although I should have but no space, I installed a South bend switch and got away from the floppy pole with a switch. I found 1 black wire taped off and the Green wire (Ground or Neutral) coming from the outlet wire, there are 6 black wires coming out of the motor. Also there are multiple wires in the wire nuts some have 3. I just want it wired properly. I wired the barrel switch as it came apart same with outlet plug, I replaced both the 6 conductor wire and the wire to the wall. I used very heavy gauge wire for both (what I could get). I will try to include pics and sorry for the terminology I am no electrician. How is this suppose to be wired correctly? It did run before.

Attachments

• SB 9A switch wire 1.jpg
    SB 9A switch wire 1.jpg
    108.8 KB · Views: 17
  • SB 9A switch wire pic 2.jpg
    SB 9A switch wire pic 2.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 15
  • thumbnail (1).jpg
    thumbnail (1).jpg
    142.9 KB · Views: 14
  • thumbnail (2).jpg
    thumbnail (2).jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 15
  • thumbnail (3).jpg
    thumbnail (3).jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 13
  • thumbnail (4).jpg
    thumbnail (4).jpg
    114.5 KB · Views: 13
  • thumbnail (5).jpg
    thumbnail (5).jpg
    104.8 KB · Views: 21
  • thumbnail (7).jpg
    thumbnail (7).jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 22
  • thumbnail.jpg
    thumbnail.jpg
    143.7 KB · Views: 22
Hi, let me peruse your pictures and I'll post back
Do you want to wire it up with the drum switch or without? In either case, we need to identify the leads. Do you have a multimeter available?
Have you examined the motor leads closely? It looks like the numbers were printed on the wires and some may still be visible.
If you can make out any that would help.
-Mark

Last edited: