HF 4x6 bandsaw - universal or induction motor?

you are right it cant be 5 hp on 110v, but it can be wired for 220 could it have a different winding/rating for wiring at 110v?
now i'm going to look for the motor tag tomorrow. i'll bet i'm wrong and it is 2hp
steve

Steve,

Marketing plays games with HP ratings. My air compressor also claims to be 5HP. -No way. It pulls 18 amps steady-state which is about 3HP so, I'm guessing the initial current draw (which is probably 2-3 times steady state) mathematically puts it in the 5 HP range -for about 3 seconds.

No matter how you slice it, efficiency is rated as output / input. If a motor is mechanically putting out 1 HP it must be supplied at least 1 hp + power to overcome inefficiency (friction and heat losses etc). If a 1 HP motor needs 16A, it's very inefficient -but possibly that inefficiency helps it obtain a higher service rating (i.e. it has a massive rotor with a lot of inertia). -Don't know, it's been 30 years since I studied that stuff and much of it was electromagnetism and the math behind it.

220 motors of the same HP pull the same amps but, the current is spread across another wire (they have 2 circuits of 110). Each circuit carries half the load so, the breaker on each circuit is less likely to trip.

When you run extension cords, there are electrical (resistance) losses in the long wire which consume power along with the motor at the end of the wire. The circuit breaker doesn't care, it just knows too much current is being pulled so it trips. Sometimes it doesn't trip right away because it takes a while for the extension cord to heat up. Generally speaking, resistance increases as temps get higher.