Hi! My Name is Yuriy ...

ycroosh

Active User
H-M Supporter - Commercial Member
Hello everyone,
Many of you don't know me and don't know what the heck is TouchDRO, therefore let me introduce myself and explain what I'm doing here:

My name is Yuriy, and TouchDRO is my DIY DRO project targeted primarily at hobbyists, makers and enthusiasts alike. It uses an Android tablet/phone for display and a wireless [BlueTooth] adapter to interface it with all sorts of scales, ranging from cheap Chinese calipers to 1-micron glass and magnetic scales.

I've been a forum member here since 2013, although I've been mostly just quietly lurking. By trade I'm a Software Engineer, currently working at Amazon Web Services on video encoding. Building stuff in my machine shop (AKA "the messy side of the garage") or tinkering with electronics are my other two favorite pastimes. This is where TouchDRO comes in: in 2012, when I started the project, commercial DROs were still insanely expensive and Shumatech was perpetually out of stock, so I decided to cobble together a DIY DRO for myself; a friend talked me into starting a blog and posting my progress there. A few months later, Hackaday featured TouchDRO on their site and within a few weeks the app went from 10 active users to over 5000 so I just kept working on the app; at the moment (according to the stats I get from Google Play store) TouchDRO has north of 350,000 installs worldwide and growing.
I look at TouchDRO as an "after hours"/hobby project. Although I sell pre-made adapter boards on my website, I work on TouchDRO more for fun than for the money. In fact, only about 0.1% of all TouchDRO setups in the wild use an adapter purchased from me; the rest are scratch-built.

This brings us to the question of why am I here, and why am I paying for the "Commercial Membership". Frankly, for two reasons: