How to calculate "Z Axis feedrate" on Mill for CAM software setup?

countryguy

Active User
Registered
Hi everyone,
I am a bit stymied on this one. The newb about 30days into Milling CAM software. I am cutting, but in Styrofoam. I am working thru the formulas and getting the parms all set for optimum cutter life and such. $180 is expensive for a Mill cutter! Wow. worth getting the math right!

I am not sure what the value should be for 'Z-Axis feedrate' on the Dolphin V12 CAM tool setup screen. It's near the bottom. (DARN- I keep getting a Quota exceeded on the image????? so no image on the post here). Anyone have an idea on what they are asking me to calculate?

I have searched all over for formulas and cannot find much. Is this the depth of cut? Does not seem like it. Having a hard time finding a definite answer in the help files and manuals as well. Going to the boards!

I am new to CNC myself, sorry I can't give you a definitive answer but my advice would be start at 1 ipm and slowly work up from that, starting at a high feed rate and working down is not financially beneficial as I have sadly found out.

Last edited:
Hi everyone,
I am a bit stymied on this one. The newb about 30days into Milling CAM software. I am cutting, but in Styrofoam. I am working thru the formulas and getting the parms all set for optimum cutter life and such. $180 is expensive for a Mill cutter! Wow. worth getting the math right!

I am not sure what the value should be for 'Z-Axis feedrate' on the Dolphin V12 CAM tool setup screen. It's near the bottom. (DARN- I keep getting a Quota exceeded on the image????? so no image on the post here). Anyone have an idea on what they are asking me to calculate?

I have searched all over for formulas and cannot find much. Is this the depth of cut? Does not seem like it. Having a hard time finding a definite answer in the help files and manuals as well. Going to the boards!