How to cut something round on a vertical mill?

great white

Active User
Registered
First off, I’m still a novice so this is probably my inexperience showing.

I need to make a bit of an odd shaped piece.

Basically, its square edged on one end and rounded on the other.

can’t do it on the lathe, that would just make the whole piece round.

Tried to mount it to my little 3” rotary table but when touched to the side mill…well, lets just say it didn’t work out well. Too much lash in the table screw and if I tigthen it up, it jams the table and eventually the milling cutter grabbed the stock so hard it jammed the table hard. I had to take the rotary table completely apart to get it freed up again.

CNC would be nice, but that waaay outside my current budget.

I tried using the xy wheels to make a circle, but I was never any good with an “etch a sketch” for anything besides straight lines, so you can probably guess how that went.

So I’m stuck. I Just can’t figure out how to mill this piece. I know it can be done, guys make far more complex shapes than this on manual mills.

Any ideas?

Do you have a DRO on the mill? They can help with locating and positioning for XY movements to a circle.

If not, scribe a circle and mill as closely to it as you can (color outside the line....) and file the rest. If you move one axis a thousandth at a time, you will eventually get there.
DanK

Basically, its square edged on one end and rounded on the other.
So you put the square end in your lathe 4 jaw chuck, make the end that sticks out round. Then move to the mill, hold the round end in the mill vise with V blocks or a collet block, or a spin indexer, or whatever you can figure out, mill a side of the square, and rotate as needed for the other sides.

I would start in the mill. Machine the square end square. Lots of videos show how to do that. Then move over to the lathe. Dial in the square end in a 4 jaw chuck Then slowly start removing the corners until the round end is round.