• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

How to preserve mill/lathe stored in unheated/unairconditioned garage

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

python50

Iron
Registered Member
Hi all,

I am a hobby machinist located in Ohio. I have a grizzly G4000 lathe and will soon have a G0755 Milling machine. Soon they will be moving to an unheated/unairconditioned garage that is subject to wild variations in temperature and humidity. The machines will be operated somewhat regularly in the garage.

I would like to know what I can do in order to protect my machines from rust.

The components I am most concerned with are:
  • The ways of my lathe
  • 3-jaw chuck , 4-jaw, and faceplate
  • The tailstock quill and chuck
  • The ways of the mill
  • The mill table
  • The mill's quill
  • The milling vise and rotary table
For the ways and the quills, the only thing I know I can do is to oil or grease them regularly. Is there a specific type of oil or grease product that would be best to protect against humidity?

With the mill table I will be working mostly with a vise and a rotary table rather than directly on the table surface. Would something like a removable paint or varnish be a good idea for protecting the table from rust?

Lastly, when a chuck is in service is there anything I can/should do beyond wiping it down with oil?

Thanks,
Jason White

SSage

Hi all,

I am a hobby machinist located in Ohio. I have a grizzly G4000 lathe and will soon have a G0755 Milling machine. Soon they will be moving to an unheated/unairconditioned garage that is subject to wild variations in temperature and humidity. The machines will be operated somewhat regularly in the garage.

I would like to know what I can do in order to protect my machines from rust.

The components I am most concerned with are: