HVAC Mini Split Question

Scra99tch

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Hi I had a quick question about a multi zone heat pump install. When you pull a vacuum on several installed heads is the whole plumbing liquid and gas line under vacuum? Or should you pull vacuum on each service port? Reason I ask is I've seen pictures of the interior and the all the gas lines are all plumbed together. But the individual zones liquid lines are all actuated through valves so can't be under vacuum?? If I have this correct.

I'd like to put these under pressure with nitrogen to check for leaks for <3 hours. Then pull vacuum for possibly even much longer say overnight but can't be there for 2-3 days to do both zones.

On a typical a/c system you can pull a complete vacuum with only one port. High or low. Now the mini splits, I have no knowledge of but I figure a system is a system

I installed a 3 zone mini split in each of my bedrooms. All zones are tied together. If you pull a vacuum on one you pull a vacuum on all of them.

Before installing the 3 zone mini split I did not know that you can shut off the entire high side port then put the outdoor compressor into a mode that compresses all the freon into the coils draining the lines... essentially putting the compressor back into the state it came in, containing all the freon in the compressor.

Hi I had a quick question about a multi zone heat pump install. When you pull a vacuum on several installed heads is the whole plumbing liquid and gas line under vacuum? Or should you pull vacuum on each service port? Reason I ask is I've seen pictures of the interior and the all the gas lines are all plumbed together. But the individual zones liquid lines are all actuated through valves so can't be under vacuum?? If I have this correct.