I bought a Rockwell horizontal mill.

OLDBEAR

Registered
Registered
I just purchased a Rockwell horizontal mill, model number 21-120. It is about 425 miles away and was thinking about hauling the thing home myself. I need to weigh the options and get advice on how to set up the machine for transport. First thing the buyer says it weighs 500 lbs, does that sound about right? I have experience in trucking, loading, tying down loads and that sort of thing, I would like to know what one can do to the machine in particular to minimize damage. I have a single axle trailer to use. Thanks in advance. Bill.

I think 500# is a little light. My Rockwell vertical is around 900# and I would think the horizontal would be about the same.

Hope that helps.

Steve

I'm not an expert on this machine but I would say 800 or so minimum.

When I moved my Hardinge I just had it set in the bed and ran 2 2" webbing straps crisscross. Machine didn't budge the rest of the drive. Having good points to lay them across is key to this working well.

+1 on Yugami. I also have a Hardinge TM horizontal.

$45 Uhaul 6x12 two axle open trailer with ramp gate. A come-along, lots of straps.

Some good dollies or 6 pieces of 3/4 inch pipe or conduit cut 3 feet long to roll the machine. A fee pry bars and 2x4 to budge it and get it moving. Have 400 or 600 pounds of friends to guide it and muscle it a bit with you, and you are all good :). (Seriously)

You can rent amazon dollies from UHaul, high capacity, for $7 a day. I have moved a lot of machines this exact way, and I have moved the Hardinge 4 times this way- hopefully for the last time! :)

This trailer is just surrounded by tie points, and at a great height. It also has a great place to mount the comealong to pull the machine in and let it out again.

I will have to dig up some pics tomorrow for you.

Bernie