I think I know already, but what would you do with this 101.07301?

kadams4458

Registered
Registered
First off, if there is an ugly lathe competition coming up, I think I have a strong contender...

I just don't know what to do with this thing. If it was a horse, it would need to be put down. Without even getting in to how worn anything is, The headstock was massacred for unknown reasons, none of the gears are present, the compound slide is cracked and missing pieces, and for some reason, someone sliced the countershaft assembly apart. It's like the Josef Mengele of lathes got his hands on this thing.

I could really use some guidance here, as I'm no expert at evaluating metalworking tools. Please grab a barf bag, or a box of tissues as you see fit, and take a look at the pictures. I would love to hear opinions on what to do with this thing. I did promise to try to see if it could be saved when I acquired it, but I just don't know if it's reasonable, even as a learning experience.

Thanks folks!

2014-08-21 21.00.12.jpg 2014-08-21 20.53.27.jpg 2014-08-21 20.53.40.jpg 2014-08-21 20.53.52.jpg 2014-08-21 20.54.02.jpg 2014-08-21 20.55.38.jpg

First off, if there is an ugly lathe competition coming up, I think I have a strong contender...

I just don't know what to do with this thing. If it was a horse, it would need to be put down. Without even getting in to how worn anything is, The headstock was massacred for unknown reasons, none of the gears are present, the compound slide is cracked and missing pieces, and for some reason, someone sliced the countershaft assembly apart. It's like the Josef Mengele of lathes got his hands on this thing.