I'm A Retired Machinist And A...

Treetop

Registered
Registered
...wanna be Hobby Machinist!

I started my 4 year tool and die maker apprenticeship in 1972 and just retired this last May 31st, as a maintenance machinist. It's been a little over 3 months now and I'm going through terrible withdrawal symptoms. I had no idea how much I would miss having access to a lathe and milling machine!

I have found an old (1954) round ram J head Bridgeport and what looks like a similar vintage Carroll- Jamieson 16 x 72 lathe. They belong to my cousin, her husband passed away about 10-12 years ago and now she just wants them out of her garage! She lives about 200 miles from me, so I haven't seen them in person yet.

From the pictures, they don't look too bad at all. The lathe has a 4 jaw, two 3 jaw chucks, face plate and a what looks like a Jacobs collet chuck. It also has a steady rest. I didn't see a follower rest or a taper attachment.

The Bridgeport has a nice 6" vise, it looks like an old Bridgeport vise. Not many collets or end mills. It does have a nice Jacobs keyless drill chuck mounted on an R-8 collet.

I'm going to have several questions in the future because:

1) I have never moved large equipment. We always used professional riggers.

2) I'll need some on line tooling supply store recommendations because all we did was request tooling, within reason :), and a week or so later it would be in the tool room.

I'm sure that I will have other questions and I may be able to answer some members questions. I certainly don't have all the answers but I've been "cuttin iron" for a long time.

Thanks for accepting me into the Hobby-Machinist ranks. Treetop

Good luck getting your machining fix :)

As far as moving equipement, it seems a drop-deck trailer is one of the handiest ways of moving machines. They will drop down low enough to allow you to use a pallet jack to load and unload the machines. And of course a pallet jack will be useful as well.