Input from people with CNC machining experience

gene_weber

Registered
Registered
I need some input from people with CNC machining experience. I posted something similar in my build thread, but this seems like a better place for this question.

I'm converting a PM728-VT to CNC as a hobby machine in retirement. I have zero machining experience, and I'm trying to make sure I include the things in this conversion that I'll need/want in the future. As far as my planned usage of this mill, it's possible that I could come up with some widget that I make a couple hundred of and sell, but mostly I think I'll make one to a few of the things I draw up in CAD. I'm guessing that the majority of the milling will be aluminum or steel, and actually some hardwood.

Based on that I think:
- The machine needs limit and home switches on all 3 axes.
- The machine needs CNC control of the spindle speed and direction to coordinate feed and speed during milling.
- The machine should incorporate a spindle speed encoder to coordinate low speed spindle operation and Z axis feed for threading operations.
- I think I'd like to add a fourth axis for "A" rotation about the X axis in the future.
- I don't think I'll need an automatic tool changer or automatic flood or mist coolant control.

Please let me know if you think this sounds about right based on your experience. Am I overlooking something? Is there something you often use as a hobby machinist, or dearly wish you had?

Thanks,

Gene

I was in the same boat when I got started, wondering just what I really needed and what I didn't. 95% of what I do isn't production work, just one or a few prototypes of something. Here are my opinions, not knowing what your high-volume widget is, it is difficult to nail down how fancy a system you might want. Take this with a grain of salt. My background is engineering, not machining. Everything I have learned came from this forum, youtube, books and breaking things myself over the years.