Introduction And Grizzly South Bend Lathe Question

Thunderbird

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,

After spending the last 6 months or so window shopping, I am getting much closer to purchasing my first serious lathe. I was hoping to get some opinions in this forum as one of the machines under serious consideration is a (Grizzly) South Bend. If I have placed this in the wrong forum, please forgive me. This will serve a long introduction and some questions all in one place.

Who am I?

A *very* serious woodworker, collector of military vehicles, and competitive shooter. In my real job, I’m a product-line chief engineer for a major defense contractor. I took several machining courses in college (which my children believe to be about the time dinosaurs were going extinct) and used manual machines exclusively during that time. My company has trained me as a “machinist” to mitigate failure to meet our contractual obligations should our machinist’s union go on strike. The training is CNC oriented, and as you can imagine, those of us from the engineering staff which have taken the training are reasonably unpopular with the union machinists who regularly operate my company’s equipment. So I’ve had virtually no time on the machines for which my employee file claims me to be “qualified” on. LOL!

What do I want to accomplish?