Introduction & Mill Selection Advice Needed

bburns0909

Registered
Registered
I've been lurking around here for a few weeks now doing a lot of research. Lots of good information and I've narrowed down to a PM machine of some kind. I've always wanted a vertical mill and about ready to pull the trigger, but would like some advice first. A little background...I'm an engineer by trade. I've worked in several industries, but mostly aerospace. So I have a technical background, understand materials, machine drawings, etc. I actually worked for a year in a model shop about 20 years ago and learned how to machine on an old fully manual Bridgeport. No DRO's or power feeds or anything like that. Traditional layout, indication and cutting was it. Since then, I've always desired to get back into it as a pure hobby. I have no intentions on making money off a new machine. If I do, it will be an accident. I also have no desire to go CNC. I like the old school process (it's therapeutic for me), but wouldn't mind some new bells and whistles (DRO and power feeds). The engineer in me drives me to get the most "precise" machine I can, but I'm not confident on how to balance preciseness with size and general capabilities. So here are my considerations...

Space: I work in a 2-car garage that's already filled with large woodworking machines (my other hobby). The space is fairly small, so a bench type mill is in order. No room for a used Bridgeport or larger knee mill.
Power: I have easy access to 120V and 220V. No issues there.
Budget: <$5k (Mill, DRO, power feed, clamp kit, collet set, drill chuck). I already have a KURT DX4, indicators, calipers and some layout tooling. Any additional tooling will be something outside of the $5k budget.