Is it doable?

iron1951

Registered
Registered
I am a newbie and my machine (new to me) is old and worn. It is an Atlas 618. M6-36A, the screw on carriage assembly (feed screw for lower swivel base) is in need of replacement along with the nut, M6-19A, needs replacement. The lead screw for the carriage is looking worn near the head too along with the half nut too

Starting with feed screw for the lower swivel base assembly, M6-36A, would my lathe be capable of cutting this thread? If yes, my next question is going to be how or could you direct me to some online information about acme thread cutting.

BTW I am not sure if this post belongs here or in the Atlas thread.

Thanks

To answer your question, yes it's probably doable if you have a lot of patience. Acme threads can be trickier to cut compared to regular threads because of chatter, which can be caused from the large surface area of the thread. The lead screw can be turned around so the worn end is at the tailstock end of the lathe, though this may require one or both ends to be modified to fit.

A simpler, though not cheaper, solution may be to replace them with new screws. Factory original parts may be available if you search online, but standard sized Acme threaded rod is available. Reid Supply sells them, but again you would need to do some modifications to the ends of the screws to fit them to your lathe.

Hope this is some help. Let me know if I can help in any way.

Sandro Di Filippo

To answer your question, yes it's probably doable if you have a lot of patience. Acme threads can be trickier to cut compared to regular threads because of chatter, which can be caused from the large surface area of the thread. The lead screw can be turned around so the worn end is at the tailstock end of the lathe, though this may require one or both ends to be modified to fit.