[4]

Is It Possible To Accurately Grind Lathe Ways At Home?

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Susan_in_SF

Wood and Metal Goddess
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Hi guys,
Quite awhile ago, I bought a South Bend 9A that was used extensively by the previous owner, until he passed away. I was told that he made a lot of guns with my new old lathe. When I bought it, I was a super newbie who didn't think about bed wear. I was blinded by the "South Bend" brand, and ignorant of basically everything.

After buying this lathe, I honestly did not plan on getting anymore lathes (lol). Then, a month later, on craigslist, I saw a just-posted ad from a guy eager to empty his storage unit that day since he was going on vacation the next day. I met him at the storage unit, and bought a South Bend 9C, along with a pair of steel workbench pedestal cabinets whose drawers were filled with supplies from the 1950's. I find it interesting how old timers used glass jars, coffee tins, and prescription bottles to store their screws, taps, etc. Anyways, I paid $120 for everything, and that's how I ended up with 2 South Bends (before I later got the free Logan lathe).

So, after a machinist friend suggested I keep the 2nd South Bend for spare parts, I decided to keep it instead of selling. I am glad I kept that 2nd lathe since I now know that my 9A lathe's ways are seriously worn. You can easily see the wear a few inches in front of the headstock. As for the older, 1930's 9c lathe, the ways are in really, really good condition. So, I plan on just swapping beds. I read online that I just need to drill an additional hole on the 9C bed to enable it to take the quick change box.

I am not sure what I am going to do with my worn bed after i swap it with the 9C bed.

Is it feasible to build a sliding table long to use on my little 612 surface grinder and 48 inch worn bed?