It's Baseball season, A bit of Baseball History

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
I have a crazy story to share.
In early 1982, I was hired by a company called Westar. They made and sold, "Incrediball" Later purchased by Easton sporting goods.
I was sent to Port-Au Prince Haiti, to determine the working condition of some old baseball winding equipment. The plant where the machines were located, was next to a mango Chutney manufacturing plant. There were dump truck size piles of rotting mango carcus next to the sporting goods company, Lincoln Diversified.
There was no running water or any toilets. There was probably 45 women hand sewing leather baseballs inside.
I walked in to a side room where I was introduced to several old, AJ Reach and Company winding machines.
Well, I'm no expert but these are worn out.
I was asked how much to make them work? I have no idea but let me work on one for a week or so and I may be able to give you an idea.
Long story short my boss bought the equipment, moved them to a better facility and I got them all up and producing quality baseballs
They had the, "Westar" ;logo.
I continue to Google from time to time the, Reach winding machines.
I finally found this article.

The picture of the winding machine below, is the only pic I have found. The two wheels held 2 baseball cores. It took 3 different machines to make a 9" circumference ball.
The cams that kicked the rolling shafts could only produce a round core between certain growing specifications. Once we had a final size we sent the ball over to be processed by the finish winder. The finish winder wound cotton string that made the wool yarn shrink and made the core perfectly round, ready to have the two peanut leather jackets sewn on.
If you know anything about these machines please contact me. I would like to talk about the subject.
Thanks,,
Jeff

af_man010021.jpg
Chris Hornung
February 24, 2018
Page 6

Maker Spotlight:
The History of A.J. Reach & Co.
af_man010019.jpg