It's First Robotics Season!

jbolt

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have been helping a high school team since 2012. Between moving and Covid I haven't done much for them for a few years. This year I was asked to help with some of the more challenging parts.

The stock: 5", 7" & 8" diameter aluminum round tube

20230124_111710.jpg

Turning the 8" parts

20230128_184724.jpg
20230129_103840.jpg
20230129_103832.jpg
20230129_104525.jpg
20230129_085747.jpg

7" parts:

20230130_140502.jpg
20230130_140458.jpg
20230131_132941.jpg

Completed Turned Parts:

20230131_140532.jpg

Ok, I'm a FRC mentor too... what the heck are you making?!? That's big for the bots!
590ddae9f43a90cbff785103ba8409b5.jpg

Sent from my SM-G715A using Tapatalk

Ok, I'm a FRC mentor too... what the heck are you making?!? That's big for the bots!
590ddae9f43a90cbff785103ba8409b5.jpg

Sent from my SM-G715A using Tapatalk
I can't comment on their purpose until the team makes it public. I will post a picture once they do.

Sent from my SM-S906U using Tapatalk

Thats neat! I mentored a few years back before I had my shop, but life got in the way :) I would have loved to have a machine shop to worth with back then!

WeldingRod1's picture is interesting! It is nice to see how other teams do their rapid prototyping. All the teams I worked with (including the team I was on in 2004!), used angle-aluminum + pop-rivets. We found that it was strong enough for our testing, then when we were happy with the design, getting it welded was pretty easy, just get all the electronics off the frame, and a welder can just tig it together.

Though, none of those 3 teams really had any machining capability, so files, drills, and hacksaws were about all we had to work with.

I meant to follow-up earlier. Here is their robot reveal video.

The parts I made are part of the large main circular joint. The three different sized parts I made are joined together by large diameter radial bearings.