Jet 1024 Power Feed Worm Wheel Gear

lemmeatthem

Registered
Registered
I purchased this older Jet 1024. It was well used, did not appear abused, and it came with some quality tooling. When i got home i decided it was worth a repaint. During the process i found a few issues that need to be addressed, the first being a worn out worm wheel gear for the autofeed. Still works, but clearly needs attention.

As with most of the older Asian equipment, finding info and parts are the challenge. Site archives have a few manuals available, but to get access i need 30 posts. So... as an offering i can share my experiences cleaning up this lathe. It will become apparent that I am new to machining, but excited to learn.

Here it is the way i found it. The seller had equipment to load, which avoided a big hurdle for me.

Attachments

• IMG_2190.jpg
    IMG_2190.jpg
    134.4 KB · Views: 130
Last edited:
Apparently, the castings are common and are shared with larger lathes, but the internals differ quite a bit. Mine is from 1976, an early model.

Disassembly was straight forward. Initially, I was just going to paint the base as corrosion was developing along the bottom, but as with other projects things evolve...

Attachments

• IMG_2220.jpeg
    IMG_2220.jpeg
    87.9 KB · Views: 105
  • IMG_2280.jpg
    IMG_2280.jpg
    138.7 KB · Views: 113
Last edited:
I would put it back together but before you do. , take pics of it. take some oil and oil it up. Take some clay and stick it in the worm to get a pitch so you can grind a tool to cut a new one.
Repeat by taking another chunk and make a half pattern..

now put it back together.
When you are ready, you'll have the clay pattern to look back over... you can take measurements from it if you did a good job.
if you are really adventerous, make a silicone pattern, and cut it open with a knife.
make a epoxy replica by pouring into the pattern.

now you have a copy to copy from .